Goodbye rain, hello sunny Brazil

4 Jan

Ipanema Beach in Rio de Janeiro. (Photo from Wiki Commons)

Ipanema Beach in Rio de Janeiro. (Photo from Wiki Commons)


I’m headed to Brazil on Feb. 8, and I really have no idea what I’m getting myself into:

  • I know no Portuguese.
  • It’s summer down there, so likely will be sweltering.
  • It’s expensive, because damned if their economy isn’t humming right along.

Here’s the plan:

  • I’m starting in Sao Paulo, a city as large as New York. I shall attempt to see a soccer match here as they work to build new stadiums for next year’s World Cup.
  • I fly north to Belo Horizonte, where I hope to catch an authentic Carnival procession. But mostly I’m going there so I can bus it an hour or two away to Ouro Preto, a wonderfully preserved colonial town.
  • Then it’s a short flight to Rio de Janeiro. The pictures make me think it’s gotta be one of the most beautiful big cities in the world, shanty towns and all. Sure there are the famous beaches and Christ the Redeemer, but I’m looking forward to exploring the artsy neighborhoods too.
  • Next up is Florianopolis in the south, with some of the most amazing beaches anywhere. Just look at these pictures.

The only complication I’m experiencing now is getting the visa for Brazil. It’s a hassle, and expensive ($280 when everything’s added up), and I’m starting the process pretty late.

I’m also still currently in the process of figuring out where to stay. I will likely use Airbnb.com for Sao Paulo and Rio, and hotels in the other places. It’s the tail end of their summer vacation season so I’m hoping that helps make my search a little easier.

Follow this blog for trip reports once I get down there.

Leave a Reply

