Days 10 & 11 in Australia: Wrapping up trip with more of Sydney

15 Feb

Time to get my bag packed for flight back home to the States on Monday. Meantime, here’s a quick rundown of what I’ve been up to these last two days:

Headed out reasonably early on Saturday morning to check out the Taronga Zoo. Evan though I was inside by 10:20, I was too late to sign up for the the koala close-up experience. Dang it! The rest of the zoo, particularly the Australian-animals section was pretty cool: finally got to see kangaroos and wallabies and emus — and even the deadly cassowary! The zoo’s setting looking out over the harbor and the city is pretty spectacular.

Later that afternoon I saw a cool Chuck Close exhibition and did some gift shopping in a neighborhood called The Rocks.

Saturday night I went to a soccer match between Sydney and Melbourne. It ended in a 3-3 draw, but at least there was a decent amount of scoring. The hard-core supporters were pretty loud.

Sunday morning was beautiful and I took the train/bus out to do the Bondi-Coogee Beach walk. This is a famous walk connecting a series of very picturesque beaches and towns. I spent part of the time dunking myself in a saltwater pool. I think this will have been the last warm sunny day for me for awhile.

Catch ya stateside!

I did get to see a koala pretty close, but it was sleeping, of course.

I did get to see a koala pretty close, but it was sleeping, of course.

My little kangeroo friends. These are red kangs.

My little kangeroo friends. These are red kangs.

The deadly -- and prehistoric-looking -- cassowary. Beware!

The deadly — and prehistoric-looking — cassowary. Beware!

This Tasmanian devil was not spinning around very fast.

This Tasmanian devil was not spinning around very fast.

The wonderful view of Sydney from inside the zoo.

The wonderful view of Sydney from inside the zoo.

The crowd files in for the soccer match between rivals Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory.

The crowd files in for the soccer match between rivals Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory.

The supporters' section is celebrating something.

The supporters’ section is celebrating something.

A like game action shot.

A like game action shot.

Famous Bondi Beach. I think half of Sydney was there since it was such a nice summer Sunday.

Famous Bondi Beach. I think half of Sydney was there since it was such a nice summer Sunday.

Beautifull waterfront on the beach walk.

Beautifull waterfront on the beach walk.

The saltwater pool at Clovelly Beach where I submersed myself for a while.

The saltwater pool at Clovelly Beach where I submersed myself for a while.

One Response to “Days 10 & 11 in Australia: Wrapping up trip with more of Sydney”

  1. pazman February 15, 2015 at 11:22 PM #

    Soccer match looks awesome, BP! Safe travels back.

Leave a Reply

