Day 2 in Germany: Bamberg

3 Oct

I present to you a video from where I ate dinner tonight:

That was the culmination of a pretty crazy day in Bavaria.

Today was national unity day in Germany. I don’t think people were celebrating the holiday so much as just enjoying the opportunity to get together and drink.

For dinner I ended up at the bar I had been to the night before, Mahr’s Brau. I ordered the Schnitzel, which was pretty tasty. I was pretty much finished with dinner when a group of folks sat down out my table. They turned out to be a lot of fun.

Three of them were basketball coaches, and they said Bamberg had one of the best teams in Germany. One of them said their son played with Dirk Nowitzky. They mentioned Detlef Schrempf and I had to laugh. I once played cards with Detlef in my dorm back in 1983. “Small world,” they said.

A brass band came in and played a couple of traditional Bavarian drinking songs. I was forced to lock arms and sway hack and forth as evryone sung along. Good times. These folks at this bar said the beer here was the best in Bavaria, and that’s saying something.

Earlier in the day I explored other parts of the town. There was this massive flea market going on — only managed to spot a couple of pieces of Nazi-era memorabilia.

Met a couple of U.S. Army dudes at one bar. They said the base near here recently closed and that all the GI’s were not happy about that because Bamberg was such a cool place to be.

As usual, the pictures tell the story. Click on them to see larger versions.

A brewery near the center of touristy Bamberg. Great table for people watching.

A brewery near the center of touristy Bamberg. Great table for people watching.

The beer of choice at Ambruasium was a hellas. It was just OK.

The beer of choice at Ambruasium was a hellas. It was just OK.

This is the beer that Bamberg is famous for: smoke beer. It's as if someone soaked a bunch of bacon in a pilsner. The dudes just to the left out of frame, wearing lederhosen, were U.S Army guys.

This is the beer that Bamberg is famous for: smoke beer. It’s as if someone soaked a bunch of bacon in a pilsner. The dudes just to the left out of frame, wearing lederhosen, were U.S Army guys.

Around every corner, a house of beer. And you can see I had more great weather on Day 2.

Around every corner, a house of beer. And you can see I had more great weather on Day 2.

I dig the street light design.

I dig the street light design.

Some famous house from the 1700s.

Some famous house from the 1700s.

View from under a bridge.

View from under a bridge.

The massive flea market.

The massive flea market.

It was tempting to pick up that Supertramp vinyl, but I resisted the urge.

It was tempting to pick up that Supertramp vinyl, but I resisted the urge.

My first truly German dinner: treber Schnitzel. Quite filling.

My first truly German dinner: treber Schnitzel. Quite filling.

Leave a Reply

