Day 4 in Europe: A full day of Berlin

5 Oct

Today was all about the walking — and I’d say this is a very walkable city. And whatever you can’t walk to is super easy to get to by subway or tram.

I started off exploring Prenzlaur Berg, then the area around Alexanderplatz.

I spent a good couple of hours in the German History Museum. It was awesome. How often do you get to see Napolean’s hat that he left behind at Waterloo?

Next up was Kruezburg, an area that is now dominated by Turks. So I had Turkish food for lunch. Yum.

And by the way, my weather luck has been great — fourth day in Germany, fourth sunny and warm-for-October day.

By late afternoon, I had made my way to the “Topography of Terror” exhibit. This is a place where one of the remaining pieces of the Berlin Wall parallels the remaining basement walls of Hitler’s S.S. staff offices and torture rooms. Lots of interesting displays about the history of the Nazis and then the Communists.

I then wandered the area in and around Potzdamerplatz, which is really not much more than a giant shopping center. Finally, as night fell, I was back at the Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag, Germany’s house of parliment.

When I got back to Rosenthalerplatz to call it a day, I hit up the corner curry joint for Berlin’s most famous snack – currywurst. I don’t think my stomach will ever recover.

A few pix below. Click to enlarge. And thanks for reading. Off to Poland tomorrow morning.

The Reichstag.

The Reichstag.

For the equivalent of $5 U.S., you get currywurst, fries and a beer.

For the equivalent of $5 U.S., you get currywurst, fries and a beer.

Breakfast was this incredible part-macaroon, part ham-and-cheese breakfast sandwich at a corner bakery. And fresh-squeezed orange juice.

Breakfast was this incredible part-macaroon, part ham-and-cheese breakfast sandwich at a corner bakery. And fresh-squeezed orange juice.

Lunch at the Turkish place in Kruezberg. I cannot remember what this was called. I enjoyed it though.

Lunch at the Turkish place in Kruezberg. I cannot remember what this was called. I enjoyed it though.

Leave a Reply

