Days 5 & 6 in Cuba: Trinidad

5 Feb
The view up the street from my casa room in Trinidad.

The view up the street from my casa room in Trinidad.

We said our sad goodbyes to Fanny at the Havana casa and walked to a nearby hotel to catch a tourist bus to Trinidad. The uneventful trip was a little over 5 hours long, including a stop in the middle for lunch.

Trinidad is famous for its cobblestone streets, horse-drawn carts and colorful houses. It still manages to be noisy even though it’s just a small town. Jeff pointed out that it is probably the most primitive town he’s ever stayed in. So many horse carts and people selling their wares or bread or pineapples by hefting a bag on their shoulder and shouting out whatever they are selling as they walk they walk down the street. These guys could bellow!

We headed to our casa to get checked in and drop our bags. Our hostest, Daylannis, does not speak English. This was challenging. But in the end, we ended up in these huge apartments across the street from each other that were big enough for eight people and included kitchens. Both had balconies and rooftop terraces with views of the countryside and distant Caribbean Sea.

After relaxing a bit over a beer, we headed out to explore. It was quaint. We ended up having an early dinner of pork belly for Jeff and seafood tapas for me.

We finally arrived at the heart of the city, the steps outside the Casa de la Musica. A band is always playing at a stage on the steps and people sit there to use the internet or just listen. Buck-fifty mojitos are available at a stand in the square below. Once it got dark we headed back to the casa rooftop to sip a little rum.

Finally we went out again for a second dinner at a place around the corner. I got to eat some lobster, and it was only 7 bucks.

Thursday dawned chilly but beautiful. It would warm up plenty by 10 a.m. They served us a huge breakfast on the terrace. About this time, Montezuma finally caught up to me to exact his revenge. I had avoided drinking the water, so it must have been something else.

We had planned to bike to the beach, but instead I told Jeff to go out to explore and leave me behind, close to a bathroom. I had been taking regular Pepto-Bismol tablets too so, dang. At least I got to catch some rays on the terrace.

Paz came back around 12:30 so we went for some lunch. I was still in a bad way. Had half of a bad pizza at the place we’d been the night before. Managed to get some money changed, but all they had were $3 bills. So I had a stack of them. Still legal tender! Also found the town pharmacy, but no dice on immodium or the like. She wanted to give me an antibiotic. No thanks.

Paz spent the afternoon exploring and shopping while I stayed back in the casa. He found some cool stuff.

Around 7 he was back and we went to the No. 2-rated restaurant on TripAdvisor, San Juan. It was fantastic. Jeff had two skewers of lobster and it was too much to eat. I had a small bit of pizza again, mostly because it’s my fav food and maybe my stomach will like it and get back to normal. Maybe 10 more hours level will do the trick and I’ll be fine in the morning. … I hope so because we’re planning to rent bikes to ride down to the beach, and our big dinner prepared by the host is tomorrow night. I want to be able to enjoy both.

Watching the sunset on the steps outside the Casa de la Musica in Trinidad.

Watching the sunset on the steps outside the Casa de la Musica in Trinidad.

The Plaza Mayor in Trinidad.

The Plaza Mayor in Trinidad.

The view of the room I stayed in in Trinidad. It had 2 terraces and a balcony.

The view of the room I stayed in in Trinidad. It had 2 terraces and a balcony.

One of the terraces of my casa in Trinidad.

One of the terraces of my casa in Trinidad.

It's hard to see, but that propaganda billboard was amazing. It shows a "Cuba" fist knocking out Uncle Sam.

It’s hard to see, but that propaganda billboard was amazing. It shows a “Cuba” fist knocking out Uncle Sam.

Men playing dominoes on a street in Trinidad. They were very serious.

Men playing dominoes on a street in Trinidad. They were very serious.

Leave a Reply

